Qualifying for Feature Races

Based on feedback and conversations with a variety of members over the last few months the committee wishes to clarify the current criteria for qualifying for our club feature races.

We currently run 4 Feature Races a year: Fingal (Feb/Mar);  Quamby (Apr/May); Longford to Campbell Town (Sep/Oct); and the Blackwood Creek 70 (Nov/Dec).

These events are aimed at creating interest, variety and hopefully the opportunity for success in our racing season for our members. We value the club feel we have, and recognise that the volunteers and the  riders who turn up regularly make the club what it is. It is with this fact in mind that we aim to ensure that the riders who turn up week in week out are not disadvantaged by virtue of having a more accurate handicapping profile.

As a result it is a requirement that riders have made a minimum of 5 commitments (e.g. duty, volunteering or racing)  to the club in the 12 months prior to each feature race, these must include a min. of 3 normal club races. NB: If a rider has not raced regularly enough for the handicappers to form an accurate assessment of their form, in the month or two leading up to the feature race,  it is likely that the said rider may receive a grade higher than they were expecting.


Read More

2015 Morgan’s Timber Quamby Classic

In perfect weather conditions, the most even and solid scratch bunch set out after the limit group on 21 minutes, and all in between at a frenetic pace, which they were good enough to maintain for the 68kms of the race. With around 6kms to go approaching the hill for the last time, Mike Walsh attacked off the front of the group, but was kept under a tight rein by the rest of the bunch. At the finishing Sprint it was one the Club’s most consistent performers and racers that held sway, with Scott Smith winning from Matt Sydes, Matt Bernal (who might now believe in his ability) followed by an impressive list of great riders.
We also had a great mix of riders who were successful in the King or Queen of the Mountains for each group.
Thanks to all the volunteers who make our racing possible. 

Make sure you have a look at the great photos on our facebook site that capture the day !!

Outright Placings

1st Scott Smith – and Fastest Time
2nd Matthew Sydes
3rd Matt Bernal
4th Dave Bingley
5th Mike Walsh
6th Tim Elmer
7th Paul Morgan
8th Scott Schilg
9th Gene Finn
10th Richard Carroll
King or Queen of the Mountain
Group 7: Shellie Wakefield
Group 6: Kristy Grubits
Group 5: Doug Watts
Group 4: Ricky Allen
Group 3: Richard Carroll
Group 2: Gene Finn
Group 1: Tim Elmer

Read More